Check out my dad's photography:
Cheshire Cat Photo



Guestbook * Notes

last entry
next entry


The Past Five:

No more monkeys jumping on the bed...

is this goodbye? only sort of.

isolated T-Storms

-

AND I baked cookies this week!


Older
my profile.
Diaryland

07.01.2007 * 12:07 a.m.
A peaceful calm.

Last weekend I was in the middle of a wilderness full of life and beauty. The trees and other plants were everywhere, green and vibrant. There were unseen birds singing in the air and insects of all types whispering in the grasses. The sounds were welcoming.

Lying in the grass with neon orange earplugs protecting my ears from too-loud gunfire, all of the natural sounds disappeared. A white noise like static from an AM radio station filled my head. Gone were the birds' song, the insects' flights, and the wind in the trees. My loud pulse was the strongest sound my eardrums detected. My face grew hot in the sun as I listening to the rhythm of my heart, and felt the life pumping through my body.

I don't know why, but I felt real there, lying in that soft grass with unheard nature surrounding me and my pulse drumming in my ears.

What a contrast to the confusion of emotions that racked my body a week later, surrounded by people I love, listening to the rhythm of guitars and drums, feeling nostalgic and wondering where the time has gone. I didn't know whether to laugh or cry, so when I was safely alone in my beloved car, I did both.

My life is beautiful and amazing. I love the present and I am thankful for my past, but when the two intersect I sometimes wish I could be lying in wild grass in the middle of nowhere.