Check out my dad's photography:
Cheshire Cat Photo



Guestbook * Notes

last entry
next entry


The Past Five:

No more monkeys jumping on the bed...

is this goodbye? only sort of.

isolated T-Storms

-

AND I baked cookies this week!


Older
my profile.
Diaryland

03.28.2008 * 8:56 a.m.
Everything rolled into one.

The beginning of the week was fantastic. Brit and I drove for miles and miles, talked for hours and hours, and laughed for days. Tanya ran outside to hug us when my car pulled up, which is always a delightful thing, and we all had a great time together. Girls need girl time, and what better way to get it than with your very best friends in a place called Disneyland. We saw some wonderful things (and people) there, that much is certain. I do so love my girls.

Yesterday Barry and I had a day to go out and play together. He had one day left without work, so we decided to drive off and have an adventure.
We started by visiting the Sunol Water Temple, which was neat, but made into something wonderful by the wildlife we saw. First, down the fenced-off fire road, we saw a big turkey with his tail feathers displayed. I told Barry to call it, because he makes great turkey noises, so he did. As we stood there and watched this big bird, a whole family of wild pigs came up from one side of the road. They even had a little baby piggy! Animals make me extremely happy, so this was exciting for me, especially since I'd never seen a wild boar before. But wait! It gets better! As the pigs went to cross the road, three deer came leaping out from the other side and bounded off into the woods. Hooray! Lots of animals make me happy!
After all of the excitement we hopped back into my car and continued on a back road on a very long, scenic route to San Francisco. I saw the sign that said, "45 MPH" was the speed limit, and thought, "No problem, I'm only going about 50." I flowed with the car in front of me, enjoyed the lush green of the trees and grass, rounded a corner, saw the motorcycle cop pointing his radar gun straight at my face, looked down at my speedometer which now read "60" and said, "Barry, he's going to pull me over."
He did.
So I now have my first speeding ticket and am very upset. The problem with the situation is that I completely deserve it. Yes, I was going with the flow of the traffic, but he picked me and I cannot deny that I was speeding. Oh the guilt! The shame! How am I supposed to be practically perfect in every way like Mary Poppins if I have a speeding ticket!?! GAH!

I eventually wiped the pouty look off of my face, we made it to S.F. and had a nice time in the de Young Museum. Yay! I took Barry to a fine art museum and he enjoyed himself! He's not completely lacking culture after all.

Oh, by the way, I feel like a bad teacher/protector of my students/defender of dogs. One of my kiddos got chased and knocked over by a random Golden Retriever that happened on to campus a week ago. She was terrified, really shaken up, but otherwise appeared fine. Turns out that the the next day her arm was badly swollen so her parents took her to the hospital and now my sweet little munchkin is in a cast because her bone is fractured! No! I know it's not my fault that this dog got onto campus and chased my student, but I feel terrible that I saw it all happen and wasn't fast enough to stop it. Poo. Now the sweetest kid in my class is going to be afraid of dogs forever.

I strongly dislike when people are afraid of dogs forever.


(At this time tomorrow I will be in the temple with Barry! Ah hahahahah! He's receiving his own endowment tomorrow at 10 A.M. Everybody be happy, because we sure are!)