Check out my dad's photography:
Cheshire Cat Photo



Guestbook * Notes

last entry
next entry


The Past Five:

No more monkeys jumping on the bed...

is this goodbye? only sort of.

isolated T-Storms

-

AND I baked cookies this week!


Older
my profile.
Diaryland

03.30.2008 * 9:04 a.m.
Bye Grandpa

My grandpa passed away last night.

"Passed away" is such an odd term. It does sound so much nicer than other phrases that could be used, but I'm still not sure of its meaning.

Anyhow, Grandpa has crossed over to the other side. He lived 85 years, very full years, and he saw a lot of change in the world. With my grandma, he raised four boys, enjoyed time with two step-grandkids, and two blood-related grandkids - my brother and me. We're not a very big family.

I know it was his time to go. I know he has missed my grandma terribly, he visited her grave daily for the past five years to tell her he loved her and missed her. I know his health was fading and he was ready. I'm still sad that I won't be seeing him for a long long time.

Thankfully, he made it out to my wedding. He was so happy, so proud of me, so glad to have the whole family in one place one last time. Since then, he's had nothing to look forward to, he has had nothing to hold on for, so he finally began to let go.

It's okay, I know where he is and I know that he is happy. I know that he is reunited with Grandma. I am so thankful for my faith and a testimony of God's plan for us. I used to believe in nothing, but even then knew that life didn't end with death. Now I know even more surely.

I'm still sad, obviously. I don't have any more grandparents now. Grandpa has always been my favorite relative because he's been the only grandpa I've known. Something about that man made me love him and respect him more than anyone else I know.
What a strange morning.

After church I'll have to go out to work for the first time on a weekend and make sub plans. I hope I don't accidentally trigger the alarms.