Check out my dad's photography:
Cheshire Cat Photo



Guestbook * Notes

last entry
next entry


The Past Five:

No more monkeys jumping on the bed...

is this goodbye? only sort of.

isolated T-Storms

-

AND I baked cookies this week!


Older
my profile.
Diaryland

11.04.2005 * 12:50 p.m.
twenty-one fridays.

Last night, while standing outside the movie theater waiting for the arrival of my friend, I watched the people walking past. The majority were couples, coming or going, arms wrapped around each other, enjoying the shared warmth. That reminded me of spending an entire day in the company of one person and feeling complete. And so I missed him.

After watching The Legend of Zorro, while walking through the parking lot in the misty night air, I saw an old Jetta. That reminded me of my first car, of high school and a different life, of a time when my morals were looser and my faith non-existent. And I was thankful that I didn't miss it.

As I approached my ivic, the moisture that clung to my hair and my sweatshirt reminded me of a hike up the pinnicles during spring break. It reminded me of kissing outside Garden Court on cold, wet nights, of purity, of something real. And so I missed him.

11.03.2005 * 7:14 p.m.
Lightning crashes...

You know what is amazing? Life. Allow me to explain.

One minute I was cutting off the umbilical cord of a chihuahua puppy who, seconds before, entered the world via an emergency cesarean section. His little wimpering baby noises filled my heart with pure joy as I rubbed him to dry him off and warm him up. The room was bright as five healthy babies squeaked and squirmed and made us smile. Five new lives bursting forth out of seemingly nowhere.

One minute later I was down the hall assisting a veterinarian euthanize a sweet old dog. She had been a good dog, had a full life and was now too sick to continue on. Silently, life slipped out the door, going seemingly nowhere.

This world, this life, is amazing.