Check out my dad's photography:
Cheshire Cat Photo



Guestbook * Notes

last entry
next entry


The Past Five:

No more monkeys jumping on the bed...

is this goodbye? only sort of.

isolated T-Storms

-

AND I baked cookies this week!


Older
my profile.
Diaryland

01.17.2007 * 3:45 p.m.
1950 to 2007 is not long enough.

The veterinarian I worked for in Goleta passed away on Sunday. He was an amazing man and an extremely knowledgeable doctor. I admired his passion for his work and his genuine regard for people and animals. The man was made to practice medicine and he did it in a way that made everyone love him. He wasn't one of those dry doctors with the bedside manner of a potato, he really cared.

He and his wife hired me even though I didn't have much experience and couldn't work many hours, and I am so grateful to them for that. That job made the last few years of college more than just school. There are things I learned while working there that will never be forgotten.

Dr. W had a great sense of humor, so working in his office was a blast. He was a fun man, and I know that he's laughing and smiling now in a better place.

I will probably make a speed-run to SB for his memorial service. I'll get down there on the evening of the 27th and stay for 24 hours before I turn around and drive home. Maybe spending ten hours driving in a 36 hour period is a silly thing to do for a man I only knew for a few years, but I don't know. Life moves so fast. I feel like I need to go down there, see some people, and give some hugs.


Rest in peace, Doctor Monkey.