Check out my dad's photography:
Cheshire Cat Photo



Guestbook * Notes

last entry
next entry


The Past Five:

No more monkeys jumping on the bed...

is this goodbye? only sort of.

isolated T-Storms

-

AND I baked cookies this week!


Older
my profile.
Diaryland

02.19.2007 * 11:51 a.m.
It all starts tomorrow!

I've been well, I've been happy, I've been healthy. Then I decline going out of town with my man this weekend because I've got too much stuff to do here to prepare for my big first day of school. Then I do a bit of work but also play some and enjoy myself. Then I feel a little bit guilty because I realize I probably could have gone with the Cowboy and had a really fun, beautiful weekend. Then I go to bed with a runny nose and a sore throat.

The cosmos is smiting me.

Tomorrow I begin teaching my very own class of third graders. I'm nervous, I'm excited, and I'm not sure I'll get a whole lot of sleep tonight. Hoorah!

02.16.2007 * 6:07 p.m.
"...and you became what you always were, a very big fish"

For the majority of each day this week I have been in solitude in my big, empty classroom. My time has been spent organizing, preparing, and planning. Minus the fact that my favorite custodian in the whole wide world still needs to bring in the students' chairs and adjust the heights of their tables, I think I'm ready. Everyone has been incredibly kind and helpful. Several members of the staff pick on me, but it's in that "Look! Another new teacher in the middle of the year! Isn't she precious? She's so young!" kind of way. I don't mind at all. I'm good at playing that game.

I have stressed out and felt overwhelmed as I've thought about all the hard work and responsibility that this job requires. Being alone all day certainly did not help to ease my mind. Then, today, the munchkins came over a few at a time to drop off their stay-at-school items. It was wonderful to meet them, they all seem excited to change classrooms. Their little, happy faces calmed all of my worries and reminded me why I chose this path and why I love to teach.

Yay! Class starts Tuesday! This is going to be fun!!!


(This is my desk. Awwww.)