Check out my dad's photography:
Cheshire Cat Photo



Guestbook * Notes

last entry
next entry


The Past Five:

No more monkeys jumping on the bed...

is this goodbye? only sort of.

isolated T-Storms

-

AND I baked cookies this week!


Older
my profile.
Diaryland

05.20.2005 * 3:34 p.m.
Nevermind the tar.

I love the ocean.
When I look at my feet in the sand and feel the waves at my ankles I have an odd sense of freedom. The texture of sand and salt on my skin gives me a bizarre feeling of being clean. The salty taste of the ocean on my lips leaves me hungry. I love the way my hair dries, wavy and wild, after playing in the water. Finding sand everywhere in my car makes me smile. When I walk along the shore, looking at the rocks, the cliffs, the birds and the waves, I am reminded that this is a beautiful world. I live in an amazing place, at a spectacular time. I can see God's hand at the ocean, in the tides and the markings on the sand, in the fallen trees and abundant life. That is enough to make me feel at peace.

When the warmth of the sun fades from my skin, when the last of the sand is washed down the drain or vacuumed out of the corners, when the smell of the sea is no longer detectable in my hair, I will still have this time. I will still have this place. These years of college memories will be bound up in a mess of sand and seaweed, salt and moonlight. The kind of tangled puzzle that I will not be able to forget.