Check out my dad's photography:
Cheshire Cat Photo



Guestbook * Notes

last entry
next entry


The Past Five:

No more monkeys jumping on the bed...

is this goodbye? only sort of.

isolated T-Storms

-

AND I baked cookies this week!


Older
my profile.
Diaryland

08.23.2006 * 4:17 p.m.
Teacher in training.

Today was my first day in third grade. I really enjoyed myself, which turns out to be an extremely good thing because I have spent the last few months doubting whether or not I really want to do this teacher thing. When I'm not in a classroom all I can think about is the tremendous amounts of work, preparation, and dedication that goes in to the job. Those thoughts get overwhelming and I get discouraged. When I'm in a classroom I think about the children, their energy, and their progress. Those thoughts are the wonderful fuel that motivates me to do what I am doing.
Precious little monkeys.

I'm glad I decided against teaching high school; my odds of having students get crushes on me is much lower in elementary school. A 16 year old boy in Idaho has called me twice in as many days because he has a mad crush on me. I didn't think he would actually call me and I didn't want to crush the poor kid's forming self-confidence, but I guess I shouldn't have given him my phone number after all.